NYFWA New York Financial Writers Association
About Us
The Board
Past Presidents
Bell Winners
Our Services
Job Bank
Swietnicki Fund
Networking Nights
Awards Dinner
Members Area
Join Us
Contact Us


August 18, 2014 – August Networking Night
Plan to join your fellow financial journalists for an evening of summer networking over a few drinks and appetizers at Social Bar & Grill.

As always, members’ first two drinks and appetizers are on us. **This event is only open to members in good standing.

We hope to see you there!

When: Monday, August 18th 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Where: Social Bar & Grill 795 8th Avenue (between 48th and 49th Streets)
RSVP: Mandatory to contact@nyfwa.org

September 30, 2014 – Deadline for World Media Summit Global Awards for Excellence
The World Media Summit invites news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world and journalists working at these institutions to submit their work for consideration for the organization’s 2014 Global Awards for Excellence.

The first World Media Summit was held in Beijing in 2009. The summit was jointly initiated by 9 global leading media organizations - Xinhua News Agency, News Corp., the Associated Press, Thomson Reuters, ITAR-TASS, Kyodo News, BBC, Turner Broadcasting System, Google Inc. The WMS includes the Summit, the Presidium and the Secretariat.

The World Media Summit Global Awards for Excellence, launched by the World Media Summit, are the first comprehensive news awards covering multiple media formats, including press, photography, video and integrated media.
Designed to become an authoritative, credible and globally influential news showcase, the awards are open to news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world.

The awards honor “TRUTH, OBJECTIVITY, EXCELLENCE” in journalism, and encourage all media professionals to pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation.

There are three categories:
1. New Media Reporting Award;
2. Media Innovation Award;
3. Awards for Public Welfare (in developing countries only).

The WMS Secretariat will invite veteran and senior news practitioners from the Secretariat members and other world renowned media organizations, as well as experts and scholars, to act as judges. They are to proceed with their work in line with prevailing international norms and with the principle of "equality and justice."
The entries must have been published, released or broadcast by media organizations.

Time frame for entry publication: Jan. 1, 2012 - Dec. 31, 2013.
Entry submission period: Jul. 1, 2014 - Sept. 30, 2014.

The working language is English. There are no restrictions on the original language of the entry, but an English translation should be attached, based on which the reviews and judgment are made.

Winners will be announced iin November 2014. Winners will be given a certificate and $10,000 each.

For more information, please visit the website: www.worldmediasummit.org/ or contact Ms. Liang or Ms. Zheng at xinhuanorthamerica@xinhua.org or at (646) 588 7468 /7477