You are here

May 11th, 2022 – The 2020 Elliott V. Bell Award Ceremony & Panel Discussion

The New York Financial Writers' Association will celebrate Andy Serwer, the 2020 recipient of the Elliott V. Bell Award for a significant long-term contribution to financial journalism.

Though Serwer was chosen as the 2020 recipient last spring, the evening was postponed to allow for a safe, in-person gathering.

The event will begin with a wine and cheese reception, followed by a panel discussion on the topic of 'The Business Model of Business News" that will include former New York Times columnist Ben Smith; Elizabeth Spiers, founding editor of Gawker and the former editor of the now-defunct NY Observer; and Vivek Shah, CEO of Ziff Davis. 

*This event is only open to NYFWA members in good standing. Guests are welcome to attend by paying the $15 guest fee through the NYFWA estore: e-Store | New York Financial Writers' Association (

When: 6 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Where: The Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY