You are here

September 11, 2019 ​ –– NYFWA’s 43rd Annual Elliott V. Bell Award Ceremony Honoring John McCorry

Join members and friends of the New York Financial Writers’ Association for a special evening at Bloomberg L.P. on Sept. 11 to honor the newsroom’s Executive Editor for Africa, John McCorry, along with the 2019 scholarship recipients. 

NYFWA selected McCorry as this year’s recipient of the Elliott Bell Award, which honors journalists who have made a significant contribution to the field of financial journalism. McCorry, a 40-year veteran of financial journalism, will join the ranks of James Stewart, Gretchen Morgenson, Daniel Hertzberg and 39 other distinguished journalists who have received the prize, which is named for NYFWA’s founding president, Elliott Bell.

McCorry, a past president of NYFWA from 1994-1995, joined Bloomberg as a reporter in 1992 after a decade of covering bond markets for The Bond Buyer and Thomson Financial. He became editor of company news in 1995 and helped lead Bloomberg's coverage of the landmark 1998 tobacco settlement negotiations, selective disclosure and Enron Corp. McCorry later headed up Bloomberg’s global company and regional news operations and Americas news coverage. In April 2019, he took on a new challenge, transferring to Johannesburg, South Africa to lead Bloomberg’s six bureaus and 120 journalists in the sub-Saharan region.

As part of the evening, McCorry will moderate a panel of finance professionals expert in emerging markets. The group will explore the increasing importance of understanding the risk/reward ratio tied to emerging and frontier markets, where high yields can boost returns and credit challenges can cause ruin. The panel will feature Ashleigh Oakes Hart, managing director of Emerging Trading Americas for TD Securities, and Denise Simon, portfolio manager on the Emerging Markets Debt Team at Lazard Asset Management, and Professor Bruce Wolfson, general counsel for Jaguar Growth Partners and an adjunct professor in the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University.

Following is a list of this year's scholarship recipients:

Ben Foldy, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Yaling Jiang, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism  

Eliana Perez, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Nic Querolo, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism  

Frances Yunfan Yue, New York University 

NYFWA will also unveil a new honor –– the Impact Award for Distinguished Financial Journalism –– which will be presented to its inaugural recipients. Each year, the award will honor a distinguished story or body of work by reporters whose work spurred impact in the previous calendar year, irrespective of when the story or stories were published. Come to the event to learn more about the honor and meet our first Impact Award recipients.

The evening will begin at 6 p.m. with a reception featuring drinks and appetizers, followed by the award ceremony and panel. This event is only open to NYFWA members in good standing for 2019. RSVPs are mandatory, as you cannot get into the building if your name is not on the list.

When: September 11, 2019, 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Where: Bloomberg L.P., 731 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

RSVP's MANDATORY -No Later Than Sept. 10: