You are here

The World Media Summit Invites Journalists to Submit Entries for its 2014 Global Excellence Awards

The World Media Summit invites news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world and journalists working at these institutions to submit their work for consideration for the organization’s 2014 Global Awards for Excellence.

The first World Media Summit was held in Beijing in 2009. The summit was jointly initiated by 9 global leading media organizations - Xinhua News Agency, News Corp., the Associated Press, Thomson Reuters, ITAR-TASS, Kyodo News, BBC, Turner Broadcasting System, Google Inc. The WMS includes the Summit, the Presidium and the Secretariat.

The World Media Summit Global Awards for Excellence, launched by the World Media Summit, are the first comprehensive news awards covering multiple media formats, including press, photography, video and integrated media.
Designed to become an authoritative, credible and globally influential news showcase, the awards are open to news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world.

The awards honor “TRUTH, OBJECTIVITY, EXCELLENCE” in journalism, and encourage all media professionals to pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation.

There are three categories:
1. New Media Reporting Award;
2. Media Innovation Award;
3. Awards for Public Welfare (in developing countries only).

The WMS Secretariat will invite veteran and senior news practitioners from the Secretariat members and other world renowned media organizations, as well as experts and scholars, to act as judges. They are to proceed with their work in line with prevailing international norms and with the principle of "equality and justice."
The entries must have been published, released or broadcast by media organizations.

Time frame for entry publication: Jan. 1, 2012 - Dec. 31, 2013.
Entry submission period: 00:00 GMT, Jul. 1, 2014 - 24:00 GMT, Sept. 30, 2014.
The working language is English. There are no restrictions on the original language of the entry, but an English translation should be attached, based on which the reviews and judgment are made.

Winners will be announced in November 2014. Winners will be given a certificate and 10,000 US dollars each.

For more information, please visit the website:
For more information, contact Ms. Liang or Ms. Zheng at or at (646) 588 7468 /7477