You are here

News Feed

New York Financial Writers’ Association Names 2020 Impact Award Winners

Dan McCrum, Stefania Palma, Olaf Storbeck and John Reed of the Financial Times are the 2020 winners of the Impact Award for Distinguished Financial Journalism for their series of courageous and persistent reports that exposed a massive fraud at the heart of one of Europe’s top technology companies.

Jason Zweig Named 44th Elliot V. Bell Award Winner

The New York Financial Writers’ Association is pleased to announce that Jason Zweig, a columnist for The Wall Street Journal and the author and editor of several investing books, is the 2019 winner of NYFWA’s Elliott V. Bell Award, which honors journalists who have made a significant contribution to the field of financial journalism.

Podcast: The Role & Responsibility of the Media in Reporting on Race & Equality

A discussion with PBS NewsHour senior editor James Blue, Insider news editor Kadia Tubman and Reuters 2020 campaign correspondent Trevor Hunnicutt about how the current focus on race is changing the way newsrooms tackle the subject in their reporting and within their ranks.

Podcast: The Role of Corporate America in Promoting Racial Justice

Can big business fix racial injustice?

New York Times columnist and CNBC anchor Andrew Ross Sorkin and John Streur, CEO of responsible investing firm Calvert Research and Management, discuss the role that corporations can play in ending racism in America.

This panel covers the rise of environmental, social and governance investing in the U.S., and whether recent pledges by Wall Street to do good while doing business are nothing more than public relations spin or are actually instigating real change. 

Podcast: Who's Hiring in Financial Media: A Conversation with B2B Media and Trade

An in-depth discussion on the hiring environment in financial journalism amidst COVID-19. Hear from editors at four major B2B media outlets: Pageant Media; Acuris; Money-Media and SourceMedia/Arizent, as they address issues including who is hiring right now and how newsrooms are structured, among others.


Jon Berke, Editor of Americas at Inframation

Dervedia Thomas, Associate Editor at FundFire

Andrew Welsch, Managing Editor at Financial Planning

New York Financial Writers’ Association Announces 2020 Scholarship Winners

The New York Financial Writers’ Association has revealed the winners of its 2020 annual scholarships for aspiring financial journalists.

NYFWA's Statement Concerning Recent Acts of Violence Regarding Race

The New York Financial Writers’ Association, the nation’s oldest financial journalism organization, condemns the recent deaths of unarmed black men and women in police custody and we also condemn attacks against members of the media reporting on the resulting protests taking place across our country. As members of the free press striving to provide an objective account of the events unfolding within our society, journalists should be entitled to the protections assured to them within the Constitution.

Podcast: Covering the Pandemic

A panel of four leading financial journalists discuss how they are covering the Covid-19 pandemic. 


Jeanna Smialek, Fed and economy reporter for The New York Times

Drew Armstrong, team leader for U.S. healthcare for Bloomberg News

Ben Levisohn, markets managing editor at Barron's


Peter Coy, economics editor of Bloomberg Businessweek

NYFWA Statement Regarding China's Expulsion of U.S. Reporters

The New York Financial Writers' Association stands with staff of The Wall Street Journal, New York Times and The Washington Post in opposing China's decision to expel their reporters during a time of unprecedented need for free and unbiased coverage of the coronavirus pandemic. When governments interfere with a free press, the people lose.

The Passage of Former NYFWA President & Longtime Member Sally Heinemann

Former NYFWA president and longtime member Sally Heinemann passed away on September 25, following a battle with lung cancer. 

Until recently, Henemann was an active member of the NYFWA and was an integral part of the scholarship committee's efforts each year to identify the best and brightest future financial journalists.